84000 Celebrates Losar - Opening Online Buddhist Reading Room

The words of the Buddha are the very heart of an ancient tradition that belongs to all of humanity, and merits preservation in that light. While initial support for 84000 has come from within the Buddhist community, this is far more than a Buddhist project. It is an effort to prevent an entire library of texts about the science of mind and human ethics from being lost from the world forever. These texts show nothing less than how to cultivate wisdom and compassion to achieve lasting peace and happiness.

84000 Celebrates Losar - Opening Online Buddhist Reading Room

84000 Celebrates - Year of the Dragon 

2,500 years ago, the Buddha taught more than 84,000 methods to attain true peace and freedom from suffering.  Of these teachings, 95% have been locked up for centuries in classical Tibetan and less than 10% have been translated into English thus far.  Due to the rapid decline of classical Tibetan and the number of qualified scholars, we are in danger of losing this priceless world documentary heritage.  The goal of 84000, a global nonprofit initiative, is to translate all of the Words of the Buddha – a holding comprised of 70,000 pages of texts -- into the world’s major modern languages, starting with English, and to make them and another 130,000 pages of definitive ancient Indian treatises on the Buddha’s teachings available to everyone for centuries to come.

The words of the Buddha are the very heart of an ancient tradition that belongs to all of humanity, and merits preservation in that light. While initial support for 84000 has come from within the Buddhist community, this is far more than a Buddhist project. It is an effort to prevent an entire library of texts about the science of mind and human ethics from being lost from the world forever. 

These texts show nothing less than how to cultivate wisdom and compassion to achieve lasting peace and happiness. They are as relevant today as ever. Grants from 84000 are funding 8,000 pages of translation by more than a hundred translators at this very moment. Each page of translation involves, on average, 12.5 hours of translator effort. We invite and welcome the support of anyone who wishes to help preserve this universal treasure.

As much of Asia celebrates the dawn of the most auspicious year in the zodiac cycle — the Year of the Dragon — 84000 is happy to announce the opening of its free online reading room at read.84000.co. The completed English translations of eight texts from the Tibetan Kangyur are the first to be published. 84000 has partnered closely with the Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center (TBRC) on the development of a secure and user-friendly technology platform for the reading room.

Reading Room Live Tours – Sign Up Now!

In conjunction with the opening of the reading room, we will be offering two free online tours for all our supporters. We will show you

how to navigate the reading room, where to read the translations, how to use the glossaries, as well as many other exciting features available. The live tours will be led by Jeff Wallman, Chair of 84000’s Technology Committee and Executive Director of TBRC. To sign up, please click on the registration links below.

REGISTER HERE
For 84000 Reading Room Live Tour (North America and Europe)

 

Tuesday, February 28

 

Paris

5:00 pm

London

4:00 pm

New York

11:00 am

Chicago

10:00 am

Denver

9:00 am

Los Angeles

8:00 am

 

REGISTER HERE
For 84000 Reading Room Live Tour (Asia)

 

Thursday, March 1

 

Tokyo

9:00 pm

Hong Kong / Taiwan / Singapore

8:00 pm

Jakarta

7:00 pm

Kathmandu

5:45 pm

Delhi

5:30 pm

Please enjoy your reading room. Thank you for your continuing support.

Sustaining the Translation Effort

Currently, 10% of the Kangyur is in the process of being translated. This has been made possible by the generous support of 74 Founding Sponsors and more than a thousand page sponsors.

84000 and the translators we support have committed to translate all 70,000 pages of the Kangyur as our first major goal. How quickly we can do so depends on funding. So far, 3,630 pages have been sponsored. Please sponsor one or more pages of translation (at US $250/page) or make a gift of any amount with an online donation today. DONATE NOW.

Please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. , if you would like more information about how to become a Founding Sponsor with a donation of US $50,000 or more.

We invite you to use and enjoy your Reading Room. Thank you for your continuing support.

« The Words of the Buddha In English

You are here: Home Religion 84000 Celebrates Losar - Opening Online Buddhist Reading Room